The work dress code debate; necessity or outdated concept?

Stacy Wasiche
7 min readOct 7, 2023

--

The fashion month is officially over globally including Paris, London, New York and Milan. The memo seems to have reached the Equity Bank desk since they have also decided their workers are not going to be out here making the world (their workspaces to be precise) their runway. Their guideline booklet on fashion dress code at work was seen with Nairobi news, and while it provided a lot of common workplace dress code rules. It was rather extreme in giving specific clothes choices in relation to a person’s body structure. If you are a corporate babe, especially in this country where we are underappreciated for our value addition, then you know the struggles of fitting in fashionably. It is already expensive to afford a wardrobe revamp, get clothes that flatter you and make you confident that you fit into corporate spaces, imagine being told what exactly to wear because you have a certain body type. And believe me, you’re not getting these guidelines from fashion stylists or experts.

I love fashion and my style is rather modest. When I got into the corporate world, I knew this was where I belonged as far as my style was concerned, so it wouldn’t be a problem adapting. However, before I had fully transitioned my wardrobe and settled into this space. I rubbed shoulders with my bosses in a very unexpected way, which made me a victim of the corporate fashion police. Imagine I, whose wardrobe is purely corporate vibes, being a victim. what about people who are more fashionably creative and experimental? How do they feel being in a world where they’re forced to wear something that does not align with their individuality or personality every day? They must be so grumpy or perhaps they’re now used to and probably always looking forward to weekends and holidays so that they can be free.

The concept of a dress code in the workplace has been a long-standing tradition, rooted in the belief that a professional appearance fosters productivity. where attire plays a significant role in shaping first impressions, a respectful environment, uniformity, equality and company culture. However, as we progress further into the 21st century navigating the modern workplace, the question arises: Is the traditional work dress code still a necessity, or has it become an outdated concept? I know I have mentioned that my wardrobe can easily adapt to corporate corridors, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to weigh in on the arguments. Let’s explore the arguments for and against work dress codes to help you form your own opinion on this divisive issue.

In the case of work dress codes essentiality:

Professionalism and Brand Image

My chapati (bread) guy once told me there was a time he was trying to speak to me, on my way to work, just so he could show his boys he can speak to someone like me. I wasn’t surprised he said that; I get uncomfortably revered in my clothes outfit. My aura exudes a lot of professionalism, and that’s basically what the brand identifies with, no-nonsense. One of the primary arguments in favour of work dress codes is the belief that they enhance professionalism and contribute to a positive brand image. When employees dress neatly and professionally, it sends a message to clients, customers, and partners that the company takes its work seriously. A well-defined dress code can also maintain consistency in the company’s visual identity. I am sure this is the argument Equity Bank came up with when they revised their dress code since their slogan is growing together in trust.

Employee focus and Increased productivity

If you’ve gone through the corridors of campus life or you spend your time scrolling through the X app and even other social platforms, then you understand how clothing choices can be distractive. I know one time, my colleagues had to sustain the sound of my feet because my boots had a faulty sole. Proponents of dress codes argue that they help employees stay focused and productive. The theory says that dressing in business attire puts individuals in a work-oriented mindset, helping them concentrate on tasks at hand rather than being distracted by overly casual clothing or personal style. When employees feel like they’re in a professional environment, they may perform better. This explains the no visible jewellery rule except for simple pearls, wristwatches and wedding bands as accessories at Equity Bank.

Respect and Decorum

As an Instagram die-hard follower of Maureen Bandari of the the Bandari Beauty, one reason I am attracted to her brand is because of how respectfully carries herself with decorum. She and her brand is simply something you would also like to associate yourself with. Work dress codes are seen as a means to maintain a respectful and decorous atmosphere in the workplace. The argument here is that wearing appropriate attire demonstrates respect for colleagues, clients and the company itself. It can prevent discomfort or offence that may arise from revealing or provocative clothing. That’s why the no bulging wallets in the back pocket for male workers at Equity Bank stood out for me, especially because it is a bank environment. That would easily scream indecent.

In the case against work dress codes:

Cultural shifts and generational differences

Generation Z is one generation that can take you aback, and this is one reason millennials and Generation X hate them. The audacity and confidence with which they operate is a different level, they’ll speak on anything that doesn’t sit right with them or even quit. A significant challenge to traditional work dress codes comes from cultural shifts and generational differences. Younger generations entering the workforce, as seen with most Generation Z, often prioritize comfort and self-expression over conforming to established dress standards. This resistance to rigid dress codes can deter talented individuals from joining a company and hinder diversity in the workplace. America is the most diversified country and has long embraced dreadlocks, nose piercings, and tattoos in workplaces. Maybe it won’t be long until the whole world accepts it.

Creativity and Innovation.

Binge watchers of Tyler Perry comedy-dramas would recognize actress Novi Brown from the series Sistas as Sabrina Hollins. She is not my favourite fashionably, I would pick KJ Smith as Andrea Barnes (Andre) wardrobe any day and time. However, Sabrina’s outfits are so noticeable because of the creativity she shows through her wardrobe. She works in a bank, and though well put together, her wardrobe would not be considered corporate-worthy or in alignment with traditional work dress codes. Critics argue that dress codes can stifle creativity and innovation. Encouraging personal expression through clothing can foster a more diverse and creative workplace culture, which in turn, can be beneficial for problem-solving and idea generation. A rigid dress code may limit employees' willingness to think outside the box.

Employee Morale and well-being

The strictness of the Equity Bank dress code guideline booklet was extreme in how they want you to wear in relation to the type of your body. Imagine those workers not being able to afford these outfits, or even worse, the horror of waking up and realizing some of your best outfits have been banned and now you are probably demoralized to go to work. Enforcing strict dress codes can have a detrimental impact on employee morale and well-being. Numerous studies have shown that employees who can wear comfortable clothing tend to report higher job satisfaction and lower stress levels. The psychological well-being of employees is a crucial factor that should not be overlooked.

Evolving Work Environments.

In one of my blogs, I mention that nothing can compete with choosing an outfit of the day when it comes to my motivation to wake up. Not even bills would motivate me enough, that’s to tell you how much I love my work wardrobe. However, I am not going to downplay the comfort of working in Pajamas at the comfort of my couch. The rise of remote work and flexible work arrangements has reshaped the traditional office landscape. In such scenarios, strict dress codes may not be as relevant, as employees working from or in co-working from home or in co-working spaces may not see the need for formal attire when their immediate audience is a computer screen. Recently while attending an international elite virtual that I did I was a speaker, and I was wearing my favourite pyjamas (I still feel guilty, because that can never be right from a personal brand perspective). It just was fine and thanks Corona, it wasn’t much of a big deal.

The debate surrounding the necessity of work dress is multifaceted and ever-evolving. There is no one-size-fits-all answer, as the relevance of dress codes varies from one organization to another. Striking the right balance between maintaining a professional image and accommodating the changing expectations and preferences of the workforce is the key.

--

--

Stacy Wasiche

Fashion & communication strategist fusing style and narratives. Curating compelling visuals, crafting brand stories. Speaker, influencer. Transform your story.